Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know you guys probably get tired of hearing me brag on my students but I must share the story that happened today at work. I am a fifth grade teacher at one of the poorest schools in Decatur. In 2005 I started working at a school in Decatur that was really poor also. Last year was my second class of fifth graders that graduated high school. I had two students find me at my new school last year and invite me to graduation one received a football scholarship to Tuskegee and the other had an academics scholarship. I was out a half day yesterday to see my son graduate preschool and when I got back to school I had a graduation invitation in my mailbox. It was from a little boy I had in fifth grade in 2006 named Eddy. I thought well that was nice of Eddy but didn't think much more about it. Well about 9:30 we are having math class and I hear a knock on the door. In walks Eddy with a huge grin on his face just like I remembered him in fifth grade always smiling. I welcomed him and introduced him to this years class of fifth graders. He had a nice long talk with my class about all the good times we had in fifth grade and told the kids about how I pushed him to be the best and didn't let him make excuses. He then shared with the class that he is graduating this year from Decatur high. He has an academic scholarship and a soccer scholarship to the University of Alabama at Birmingham! A full ride and he is going to be premed with a goal of becoming a heart surgeon. Talk about making my day! I walked around all day with my chest poked out like he was my own son. He even wrote me a very nice letter thanking me for his success. It was so funny to hear his recollections of fifth grade. He remembered the day we wrote about our most embarrassing moments ever and Maurice wrote about the time he spent the night with his grandma and forgot to pack his underwear and had to wear his grandmas