Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 84 Posts

·
Premium Member
18,026 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Handle guns long enough, and sooner or later you'll do something without thinking it through, and it hurts. Hopefully it won't be too bad, just enough to teach you a lesson, remind you of the forces you're dealing with. Sometimes it's something stupid, like shooting something hard and flat with a BB gun, and having the BB come back at you. I know of a guy that did something similar with a 45 auto, and it damn near killed him.

In my case, I've had ONE oops, many years ago, not long after I started shooting, and it made me more careful. A little blood shed, in this case, was a good thing. It's kept me on my toes for the ensuing three decades!

Super Bowl Sunday, a dreary February day in the early 80's, and the two teams playing that year were nobody we cared about, so we went shooting for the entire weekend at a friend's cabin deep in the boonies. I had brought a couple thousand rounds of various calibers, but most of it was full-power pistol ammo to feed my then-new S&W 686. There was a steady drizzle so we were shooting off the front porch, and I was having trouble hitting a distant target. Without thinking about the spatial relationships involved, I grasped a 4X4 upright with my left hand, rested my shooting hand on my forearm, and let one fly. My knuckles were about three inches from the front of the cylinder, and about a hundred sand-size particles of 2400 embedded themselves in the back of my hand, mostly around my knuckles. It felt like someone had swatted me with a flaming 2X4. My shooting companion didn't laugh out loud, but he couldn't believe I did anything that stupid, and I spent the rest of the day nursing bloody knuckles.

So..........what have you folks done to make your own gun bite you?

·
Premium Member
1,169 Posts