Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all,

Went by a pawn shop yesterday not expecting to see anything at all of interest but a bullseye caught my eye...

T serial (1960?), golden trigger, pistol grip (smooth wood style no cap), rail on receiver with two screws (rail overhangs receiver ~1 cm), front sight is gold bead, rear is leaf style, crown has no nicks, all parts seem to be there

Bluing: ~80ish% (I'm not a good judge)
Wood: quite a few dings but not sure if it would be designated "beater" (honestly all of my rifles are really nice cosmetically so this one seems hurtin' in comparison)

Action is smooth, lever locks up tight

I've been holding out for a 1953 but I never see these at local shops and am tempted...

Tag says $375 (which I cannot justify), should I even entertain the idea if I can get it for less?

What else to check if I go back and she's still there? Thoughts?

·
Registered
1,406 Posts
Unless it has a completely shot out bore. Unlikely. Or the bore is rusted or something. I think it is getting tough to find any 39a in decent useable condition for less than 400.00. If it is 100% there and functional, does not seem too unfair at all..

I paid 400 at a Garage sale for a nice 53 about 4 years ago. I considered that a steal. For a 1960 or so model I do not think 375.00 is too bad. Nothing says you cannot offer less either.

Pics would be very helpful of course too. But maybe not possible.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Unless it has a completely shot out bore. Unlikely. Or the bore is rusted or something. I think it is getting tough to find any 39a in decent useable condition for less than 400.00. If it is 100% there and functional make a difference of course also.

I paid 400 at a Garage sale for a nice 53 about 4 years ago. I considered that a steal. For a 1960 or so model I do not think 375.00 is too bad. Nothing says you cannot offer less either.