Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this can be a controversial subject so lets please just reply with what you did and what your groups are like. I've not owned a marlin or rem barrel for that matter and am just curious if anyone has done a shoot, clean shoot clean etc barrel break in process with their newX7..

I should be getting mine late this week and plan to be shooting by Sunday so any suggestions and experiences are welcome.

PS,, I have never done a break in process before but as mentioned, this is my first rodeo with this gun manufacturer
Thanks
Brett

·
Registered
386 Posts
Well, I first clean all the oil and gunk out before I take a first shot. Then I fire three shots, clean again. Fire three more, clean again and do it one more time to make sure it's shooting exactly where I want it. That's about all you need. It will take forever to clean the first couple times but gets quicker the more you shoot it.
Taking one shot and cleaning after every shot is of no benefit, at least that's my opinion. My groups are about 3/4 of an inch at 100 yds with the cheap Winchester 130 gr super X power points (.270). Not sure about my 7/08 since I havent shot it since I changed it's stock and scope.

·
Registered
88 Posts
I clean thoroughly when new and then after each range session, normally 15-20 rds. My 243 and 25-06 shoot multiple loads under an inch and at least one varmint load under an inch at 200yds.
After I get the load work done I'll let it go 40-50rds before cleaning.

·
El Kabong
8,333 Posts
I bought a Shilen stainless steel varmint barrel 7 years ago.
Cleaned it after the first shooting
Ive cleaned it after every shooting since.
It still prints sub MOA at 200 yards.
Its had over 700 round shot though it.

·
Registered
66 Posts