Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
553 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Need help deciding. I have been reloading for maybe 2 years now on a rockchucker single stage press. I really don't reload much as my work keeps me short on time. I can't see my self with a full blown progressive press,I don't shoot all that much. I am thinking of getting a new turrent press. I think it will help speed things up little and maybe streamline the process when I do have the time. So my question to you that are more experenced then me, Which turrent press should I buy? and why. Make sure you take the cost of the press out of the consideration. I reload 38/357 , 35 rem. 45-70gov and 44 mag. thanks Scott

·
Premium Member
16,812 Posts
Hey Scott,

You may be well served with the Lee 4 hole turret. (there are a few "quirks" with these, and the guys that use them will be along to extol their virtues)

The Redding and RCBS are priced at what you can get a Dillon 550B for. (which greatly speeds things up, and greatly frees up time for shooting more, load all my rifle ammo on the Dillon 550B)

Later, Mark

·
Super Moderator
5,565 Posts
Repeat after me........turret. Turret. Turret. The first step in buying this type of press is realizing there is no "n" in its spelling.

I use and like the Lee 4 hole turret press, and it has pretty good reviews from nearly all of its users.

I do not consider the turret press as the same as a full blown progressive press, as it has a slower operation than a progressive but is much faster than a single stage so be sure you're not comparing apples to oranges when looking at press types. Be sure to compare the same thing.

·
Premium Member
2,128 Posts
I use an old Spartan from time to time but mostly use my Rock Chucker single stage.

·
Registered
553 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·