Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let's see if I can ask this in an understandable manner... I'm fairly new to leverguns and to Marlins, and have never shot one chambered in anything other than 30-30. And my last lever/30-30 experience was before the advent of Hornady Leverevolution ammo. I read somewhere that the 35 Rem was the round that benefited most from the creation of the Leverevolution, but I don't know if that's true... or even exactly what it means. So here's my question: Of the currently-produced Marlin centerfire rifle calibers- which I believe are limited to 30-30, 35 Rem and 45/70, which offers the flattest trajectory with available Leverevolution factory ammo?

·
Registered
2,315 Posts
Current production: .30-30 (w/ LVR (LeVeRevolution) loads)

Modern production: .308 MX LVR followed by .338 MX LVR (with .307 Win LVR close on the 338's heels).

.45-70, .450 Marlin, .444 Marlin, and .35 Remington can't keep up, at all. The boomers and .35 Rem have their place, but it doesn't involve a flat trajectory.
.307 Win handloads get a boost in case capacity and muzzle velocity when using the .30-30 version of the 160 gr FTX, rather than the .308 MX 160 gr FTX, but the ballistic coefficient is notably lower and hurts the trajectory.

·
Banned
16,333 Posts
You're missing the Marlin 444 and 308MXLR chambers 308.

There's also the XL7, XS7 & MR7 in various calibers, but they're bolt actions.
and there's the .338 Marlin Xpress too. Along with .450 marlin

Reactions: maki00 and Sambane

·
Registered
5,979 Posts