Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all --- Newbie here Shedd Rat,

I have been away from the daily banter of what is going on at Marlin and other firearms related topics since Marlin Talk closed. I was doing a little research when I came across a post here at the Marlin Owners forum that was related to my research, so I thought I would join, at least for a while.

I started building a Time-Line of events at Marlin since its beginnings. Brophy’s book has been helpful but it does not have all the information there is and since the book was published many things have happened that I would like to add to my timeline.

I have a question I would like to post for some lively discussion. It is a question that many of us kick around the hunting camp when the day’s hunt is over or at the gun shop on a rainy day. It has to do with when things happen in the firearms industry, both good and bad. Well, in the case of Marlin, I won’t say bad but disappointing because thus far nothing bad has come out of their factory. An example of a :D good question would be ”When did Marlin first offer a rifle with Micro-Rifling? The answer could be easily found in the 1953 Marlin catalog. My question is a lot harder. :(

My question is
“When did Marlin (month and year) knuckle under to the legalese of our time and rollmark an idiot stamp on their barrels? This is a disappointing event for sure.

Part 2 of this question is
What would you recommend to Marlin to cover their Butt from litigation while not ruining the beauty of a finely crafted firearm?

·
Premium Member
7,243 Posts
They first offered a bolt action .22LR with Micro-Groove rifling in 1953, but the 39a was the first lever in 1954, and it took until 1956 for the 336 to get MG rifling.
As for the warning, I believe it was around 1984.