Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
900 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone tell me the reason for the rebounding hammer on the 39AS?

Why is it better, if it is, then the non-rebounding hammer?

·
Registered
3,372 Posts
Perusal of these forums would lead you to think that the rebounding hammer is to annoy those with guns that have it, and to make those with guns without it to feel superior! :lol:

Seriously now, it is a safety device to keep the hammer from impacting the firing pin unless the trigger is pulled to the rear. Like from a fall or blow. Its another redundant safety feature. Is it better? Marlin (and others) seem to think that if one safety feature is good, then two (or three) must be better. Some marlin owners seem to think one is too many! Particularly the cross-bolt safety. You'll have to make up your own mind on that. I don't have a problem with it, but then I'm relatively new to Marlins and I've never had one with only the half-cock safety(?). I always assume the safety is not on when I'm not firing, and always assume it is when I'm going to fire, so I move it to "fire". I don't hunt, so there's never the issue of losing game 'cause I forgot (duh) :oops: to move the safety to fire. :D I think its a non-issue.

There, I've probably opened up the hornet's nest (again). 8)

·
Premium Member
3,589 Posts