Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
459 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is involved in rebarreling a .450 Guide Gun to a 45-70SS (22" barrel)?

Assuming that I have only the Guide Gun and the barrel. Right now, just an academic question.

·
Premium Member
4,170 Posts
Re: What is involved in rebarreling a .450 Guide Gun to a 45-70SS (22" barrel)?

I would think...only the bolt and barrel, but I'm no expert! Tomray...

·
Registered
209 Posts

Sell your 450 and buy a 45-70. Why pull your pants down to pull up your socks.

·
Registered
175 Posts

I wanted to do some barrel swapping similar to that a few years ago. You can do it but you will have to go to a gunsmith and have a custom barrel made.

The reason you can't use Marlin factory barrels is because the 1895 in 45-70 has "U" cut threads and the 1895 in 450 are "V" cut threads and more of them as well as a slightly different metallurgy in the receiver combined together, the 450 is a bit stronger i.e. max chamber pressure of 43,000 psi vs. 32K psi for the 45-70. This info is directly from a Marlin factory gunsmith I was able to talk to.

·
Registered
102 Posts

Ah ha! Different barrel threads. I didn't know that, but that makes sense. Oh, and the .45-70 receiver has a notch cut out in the ejection port too, to clear the .45-70's large rims. The .450 receiver doesn't have that notch. I like the .450 better anyway. It's the most powerful non-magnum big bore cartridge available. So really, if you want a .45-70, trade the .450 for a .45-70. It would be a whole lot more economical than modifying the .450.

·
Registered
175 Posts

Better yet, why trade. Just buy a 45-70! ;D

·
Registered
209 Posts

m3taco said:
Better yet, why trade. Just buy a 45-70! ;D
Better yet. Marlinitus with a pair. That just means you'll have to shoot both but it will be tough trying to select which one your going to hunt with.

·
Registered
175 Posts

Armymark said: