Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been shooting my compound bow for 10 years and happy with it. Upgraded to nice drop away arrow rest a couple of years ago with tune up. Curious what significant improvements with today’s bows. Only thing I can think of that would interest me is lower sound level with same arrow speed. Interested in experiences of those who have experienced shooting different bows last 10 years.

·
Registered
3,318 Posts
Like you I have an older compound bow (Hoyt) that I still hunt with. I have never had any issues with it (it's fast & quite). But after handling a few of the newer models, I can feel the difference. The newer bows are shorter..axle to axle, more compact, lighter & shoots faster. which I feel is easier to maneuver with in the woods/ tree stand. I will eventually look to upgrade to a newer compound bow.

·
Registered
1,814 Posts
The newer bows are much lighter and shorter but that does not interest me very much. I might be too attached to my older BEAR Whitetail II.

TR

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you for info. What I have is good enough for me. My older brother is looking at shopping for a bow next week or so. He is mid sixties and new to archery. Lighter and easy to maneuver with large range to start with easy draw weight to build from should be what fits his needs

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I am shooting Diamond Ice. 85 grain broad head seems to shoot flatter than 100 grain and still drops deer . I rarely need to get off top pin hunting

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Probably due to much much more practice with bow vs rifle especially when I lived in suburbia I am steadier shooting bow than rifle at 25 to 30 yds it seems when shooting rifle with iron sights with no shooting rest standing

·
Registered
7,260 Posts
Well, you asked, so let's stir up the pot a bit...