Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
899 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm brand new to the caliber, but a buddy is offering me a like new Winchester 94 Trails End Takedown with dies and 100 brass for a steal.

I'm inclined to take it, because everyone else backed down when they heard the caliber, and claimed it to be a "Dead Caliber".

For the record, I have extensive experience with 45/70 and loading for it, and while the cartridges themselves are not interchangeable the load data is to a certain extent. So, if I wanted to load the 450 Marlin "Down" using 5744 or Trail Boss, it would take the same bullets as the .460 sized 45/70 bullets I already have a glut of.

What are your thoughts?

Is there still a chance for this chambering to make a comeback, or is it dead and I should just hang up the offer?

·
Registered
1,668 Posts
I picked up the 1895M not long ago. I enjoy calibres that are a bit different from everyone else. When i found a place here in Australia that had brass,I grabbed 100. Like you said, bullets the same as 45/70 being the same helps. Can't wait to see how it goes once this China virus BS lets me out of lockdown!

·
Premium Member
4,738 Posts
I do not know anything about the Winchester rifle in that caliber, but if it shoots well for a good price, then why not get it.
Similar ballistics to the 45-70 for hunting purposes. I believe the brass is still made for this caliber by Hornady and I have seen new ammo on a few store shelves, but the price tag was high.
Andrew

·
Registered
899 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I do not know anything about the Winchester rifle in that caliber, but if it shoots well for a good price, then why not get it.
Similar ballistics to the 45-70 for hunting purposes. I believe the brass is still made for this caliber by Hornady and I have seen new ammo on a few store shelves, but the price tag was high.
Andrew