Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Banned
1,157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
...and discovered that either I'm recoil-sensitive, or people aren't just whining about the pains of shooting off a bench. Those 180gr Core-Lokts hurt like heck. :eek: Funny thing is I didn't notice the recoil when shooting from a standing position.

I'd boast about my tiny groups except that with a twenty-plus-mile-an-hour wind and the fact that I'm not used to shooting a .30-06, the best I could do was a bit under two inches. :'( Maybe with practice I'll improve... ::)

I remember the first time I shot a 12ga--my shoulder was sore for two days. Now, even with nothing but a t-shirt, I hardly notice the recoil. I sure hope the same happens for the .30-06. ;D

·
Registered
2,812 Posts
You'll get used to it. When I started shooting heavier rounds they affected my ability. Now my 375H&H is quite comfortable and even my 416 Rigby is pretty shootable for me.

·
Banned
1,157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
IN1894SS said:
You'll get used to it. When I started shooting heavier rounds they affected my ability. Now my 375H&H is quite comfortable and even my 416 Rigby is pretty shootable for me.
Ah, good. Of course, if that's your picture in your avatar, I'm not built as sturdy as you, so... ;D

·
Registered
631 Posts
MarlinXL7, I spent 30 years in the Marine Corps. It's not about build, but technique.

·
Registered
2,359 Posts
Just make sure you have it tight in your shoulder with a good cheek weld.Doing that sucks up a lot of recoil!!! ;D

·
Premium Member
4,167 Posts
I'll admit it...I use a sissy pad (Past) whenever shooting from a bench! Most times its not needed, and yes I can handle recoil, but why beat yourself up to prove it!

·
Registered
386 Posts
MarlinXL7 said: