Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to reloading and am pricing out kits. The lee classic anneversary kit is a great deal right now and I would like to buy it just to try out reloading and see if it is indeed for me. I would use it until I wanted an upgrade (if ever) in the future. I was told that lee equipment only uses lee dies. I am worried that if I go this route I wont find lee dies for my 308mx... as I was told this by a salesman in a store,that doesnt carry lee I thought I might do some reserch here about it before buying anything. I shoot 45/70, 308mx, and 243. I may add a 3006 or 270 if I really get into reloading. Need some advice... is the super cheap (300 cheaper) lee kit gonna cut it, will I be able to interchange dies, will I need to interchange dies??? I should add I have no plans for handgun reloading in the future.

Please help ???

·
Registered
9,666 Posts
I used to have a Lee press and it took standard dies with 7/8-13 thread. I also still have a few Lee Dies that fit my RCBS presses.
Sorry for the typo, 7/8-14 thread.
Joe

·
Super Moderator
19,135 Posts
I bought lee for my 45-70 fit my RCBS rockchucker. Never ran into that issue :)

·
Premium Member
18,025 Posts
All standard dies are 7/8-14 thread, and are interchangeable. I used mostly Lee Dies (I like them the best) but I also have dies from RCBS and several other companies. They all work in my Lee presses.

Skookumrob said:
I was told that lee equipment only uses lee dies......as I was told this by a salesman in a store,that doesnt carry lee
Either he doesn't know diddly about Lee equipment, or he's trying to sell you what HE carries by badmouthing the Lee stuff. ::)

·
Registered
4,169 Posts
I posted this somewhere else too, for skook...but just to make sure he sees it.