Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys,
I'm new to shooting. So I went on impulse and put money down on a used 25N w/scope at a gun shop in excellent condition for 169.00 All there new .22's are 229.00 and up at this gun shop.

Great personal, service but kinda high on prices.

Then I got wise and found out Walley world has new 925's for 145.00 new w/scope.
If I go get my down payment back on the used one, they will charge me 15% restocking fee (25.00) in this case.

What should I do, go with the used in excellent shape or take the 20 loss and get the new one from Walley World.??

Please any advise would be a great help to this newbie... :confused:
BTW
This is a really good site and I respect your all's opinion.

·
Registered
25,048 Posts
the new one less money and better trigger :D..

Should be no restock fee as you never removed it from store.. check local chamber of commerce for laws

·
Registered
97 Posts
I agree with GJ.

I don't think I would tell the gun shop that you found one cheaper though. I'm not telling you to lie but, you don't have to tell them everything.

Let us know how it turns out.

Wannabe

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah they are really nice at the shop.

So I figured I would just tell them I came across a better deal and at least buy a gun cleaning kit and a case for the rifle (they have some good ones there) from them, because I do want to do business with them in the future.

Good advise guys !

Any other advice for this relatively new shooter on ammo for this rifle and other things I need to take to the range with me?
I heard that one needs to clean the rifle after about 100-200 rounds.

·
Registered
25,048 Posts
I purchase at the best place for prices.. I do try to give the local shops all the business but when talking 30 plus difference it pays to shop.. thats a lot of accesories and ammo :D