Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2,149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Aussie/Border Collie Mix that we adopted about 5 1/2 years ago from a shelter that had been taken in from a hoarding situation and was about 4 years old at the time. She is a great and loyal friend, companion and gentle soul. She starting losing her appetite starting about to 6 months ago but it has been a very gradual decline. She has gone from 47 pounds this last Summer to 35 pounds currently.

She had her full exam and bloodwork in September and all looked good was about 42 pounds at the time. We thought maybe her gums and teeth were giving her discomfort. She had a subsequent cleaning in late September and it all checked out. Her appetite has declined so much in the last month that I have done what I have never done before which is trying to entice her to eat with steak, rotisserie chicken, ham, eggs, bacon .... It worked for awhile but now she is just shutting down.

Yesterday brought her in for X-rays and ultrasound and it is what I feared, mottling in her spleen and liver. The vet is pushing for doing a biopsy to determine the specific most likely form of lymphoma she has. That would then be followed with oral chemotherapy. I let go of my Golden almost nine years ago now for similar reasons as I am not going to have my dog suffer to keep her around for my behalf. Hardest part is she is still very responsive, mobile and enjoys walking around outdoors with me still.

This is just one of the many stark reminders of my mortality and taking stock that in life all we truly have is our relationships and they are all impermanent. I am so truly going to miss her. Looking to find a vet that will come to the property to euthanize her as I do not want going laying on a cold hard steel table.

·
Super Moderator
31,937 Posts
It's hard to do to put a friend down when their love was so great for so many years..........
You're doing the right thing.

ca'jun56

·