Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I finally got the help I needed to get this little project started. I've been tinkering with this idea in my head for a few years now and finally this past weekend, the first step was taken.
The backstory: My wife's parents own (with 2 of my MIL's brothers) a small hunting/recreational cabin. Its a really great little hole in the wall for all of us to enjoy and get away for a weekend or just about anything else we want to do. And of course, as most stories like this go, there is this often forgotten jon boat just sitting there next to the wood shed. There is nothing special about it, it's just a 12' Grumman with a modified v-hull. As often as the cabin gets used by the owners, family and friends, I can only remember one time where I have seen this boat out on the water. I know I would really enjoy taking it out, but unfortunately, there is always an excuse to get in the way. One of those excuses bothers me more than most though: Because it sits there unused, it is generally treated as just something in the yard and would require a weekends worth of work just to put it on the water for a couple of hours. So this is where I've decided to take some action. Originally my plan was a bit bigger, I saw some videos of modified jon boats with all the bells and whistles of a regular bass boat and I thought it would be great to take this jon boat t that level. I even did quite a bit of research on materials, costs etc... After mulling this over for a couple years I've come down to reality a bit and really just want this thing to be water ready.

20200620_181108.jpg 20200620_181126.jpg 20200620_181120.jpg