Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In an era of outsourcing and declining "Made in America" products, Ruana Knives has been making and selling its wares in the same shop in Bonner, Montana for over 75 years. Rudy Ruana began making knives in the 1920's when he was a farrier in the United States Cavalry. He made his first knives for Blackfeet Indians in need of a better tool for skinning horses. He continued to perfect his process, and opened his first shop in Bonner in the 1950's. This is truly original knife making, and this is a genuine story of a deep family tradition, rooted in old-fashioned Montana history.

https://youtu.be/lBKnLe7tYmU

·
Premium Member
2,621 Posts
Checked their website.. Pretty cool lookin knives..

Reactions: KenMT

·
Registered
14,846 Posts
Welcome to the Forum, from New York.

Thanks for sharing.

·
Premium Member
2,128 Posts
I love old Ruana's , I've been collecting them for many years. Picked up a Rudy 42D "toothpick" Bowie this weekend. I'll dig it out tomorrow and post some pics. Rudy's knives are less refined than what Vic Mike and mark put out today, current production knives are works of art in my opinion, but also great tools. Rudy's Have a folk art look and feel. Here it is... IMG_9955.JPG IMG_9956.JPG IMG_9957.JPG

·
Registered
407 Posts
Fella's;

Now I'm over here on t'other side of the divide, and I'm not a native Montanan either. But I hear that there's Ruana knives Bonner Montana, and then there's Ruana made offshore knives. Supposedly some sort of split, sale, and contention amongst Rudy's heirs. In other words, just because you bought a "Ruana" knife, doesn't mean you got one such as is depicted in the film.

I'd sure be glad to hear from an authoritative source just what went on, and how to tell the difference.

900F

·
Registered
12 Posts