Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Premium Member
9,145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is an undertaking that I have never done before and is a learning experience. Several weeks ago I got a 1967 336RC in 30-30 that a buddy of mine picked up at an auction. All that was there was a cut off butt stock, no butt plate, no recoil pad, no grip cap. And a barreled receiver (the receiver is complete). No mag tube, no forearm, no sights, no barrel bands.

I found out that Marlin changed the front barrel bands in the early 1980"s. The older front band used a smaller screw. I tried to order the parts I needed from Numrich. Even after giving them the serial number and TELLING them I needed the OLD STYLE parts they sent the new style parts. So I had to send everything back.

I then contacted Jack First Gun Shop in Rapid City SD and they sent out the old style mag tube and forearm which were brand new parts, but they didn't have an old style front barrel band. Thanks to Sure-Shot I now have a front band! Thank you Sir!!

Being as ignorant as I am, I figured the parts would all just fit together.....Well they didn't!! :roll: :roll: The mag tube would not fit in the forearm. After much sanding, fitting, sanding, fitting ect, ect it did. Then the forearm had to be fitted to the receiver with some fine sanding (very fine) again sanding, fitting, ect, ect. Then the rear barrel band screw would not fit straight through. So, I had to file the grooves in the barrel and barrel band, once again file, fit, file, fit ect ect.

Up to this point I have the mag tube fitted, forearm fitted and put together and everything seems to operate ok.