Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to having a lever gun and am looking for suggestions. I was curious about how many used the scout scope setup vs the traditional setup vs the eotech type sight. Also, what kind of open sights are the best? Thanks for any info.

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
I've used and still use on many of my rifles, all the scope options mentioned..

I prefer the scout scope setup on my guide gun.
Quick target acquisition and it has the magnification for longer shots. It also helps to see saplings or twigs between me and my game target.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info. The gun I bought has a Leupold scout scope. I guess it will just take some getting used to.

·
Premium Member
3,192 Posts
To get the most from a scout scope, it is best to look through it with both eyes open.

FOV, isn't as big an issue with a scout scope, like it is with a traditional one.
Being able to see around the scope will help you find your target quick and easier.

·
Premium Member
185 Posts
If you go with an XS rail and sight you can have the best of both worlds. All you need is quick detach rings to go it. I have used that combo on few guns and it is nice just because of the flexibility. Here is a gun I have for sale, you will get the idea of what I am talking about when you see the sights.

http://www.marlinowners.com/forums/index.php/topic,88935.0.html

best of both worlds in my mind.

micky

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
That is a nice setup. The gun I bought has the xs scout rail like that. I guess I just need to put a set of sights on it too. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
5,925 Posts