Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have my camp 9 original stock stripped, cleaned, and lightly sanded to a smooth, unstained appearance (birch wood, I believe). I am trying to figure out what stain to use, as I know from prior experience the standard walnut stain looks terrible. For those of you who have thoroughly refinished an original stock, what stain did you use? If you did not use a stain, what oil or other coating did you use?

Thanks for your help.

Jim

·
Super Moderator
11,169 Posts
Depends on if you want to stain it Walnut or some shade of Walnut. You will want to use an oil based stain so it penetrates the wood. After you get the shade you like then seal it with a grain sealer. I have been using Birchwood Casey products for many years with very good results. You have to decide if you are going to go with a polyurethane final finish or an oiled finish. Minwax has some nice stains and polyurethane finishes. If you are not good at hand rubbing I suggest the spray on finish.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks, cowboy. I had a camp 9 5 years ago that I refinished in walnut (oil based), and it was so ugly, uneven, blotchy, I stripped it and just used linseed oil. I gave stained lots of walnut wood stocks with walnut stain, and they turned out great, but this is not walnut wood. I wanted to know if there is a better color than walnut. Have you stained one of these in walnut? Mine would not take the stain...it sat mostly on the surface, and was really ugly.

·
Registered
537 Posts
I've always been happy with straight Tru-Oil from Birchwood Casey. It has a very slight tint to it.

If I want to add color to a stock, I use water-based aniline dyes. But I still finish it with Tru-Oil after color is applied.

·
Super Moderator
12,712 Posts