Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to anything that starts with "marlin" so you'll have to forgive me if this seems like an incredibly stupid question. Referencing the photo below, do I have something to worry about?

The rest of the bore doesn't look bad and my new baby does need a cleaning, but shame on me for not noticing this before. Of course, it could be normal given the patterning. It's literally a ring inside that narrow zone of the barrel interior, which strikes me as an incredibly isolated area for rust. If it helps, the serial is 98series (2008?).

On a side note, it looks incredibly sexy with my katana.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
mogwai said:
Clean it and shoot it. Then tell us if you have problems. BTW swords are ninja. Marlin levers are not.
I will, but these guys disagree with you :)

http://www.teppojutsu.com/ said:
Teppo Jutsu refers to the "art of the rifle", a warrior art practiced in feudal Japan by the Samurai. Contrary to popular belief, the Samurai did use firearms and as with all their weapons arts, were quite the skilled "riflemen". Similar to the other weapons employed, for the Samurai this art encompassed all aspects of the rifle as a weapon: achieving accuracy, proper cleaning and maintenance, rifle and ammunition design and development, as well as using the rifle in Close Quarters Combat. This latter included such skills as weapons retention, striking with the rifle as a blunt weapon, and even the use of the bayonet (Juken Jutsu).

And I love the see-thrus myself. :-*

·
Registered
978 Posts
It's a stainless rifle, rust is possible but not likely. It's probably copper fouling and powder residue, clean it and shoot it.

·
Registered
356 Posts
Looks good to me. Don't think you need to clean it unless you want to.

·
Super Moderator
13,313 Posts