Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked this up off gunbroker at a local shop and didn't really notice this until I got it home, but now I am wondering just what I have here. Would Marlin have sent a rifle out like this from the factory or do I have a Frankenstein gun? I'm kinda new to the old marlins obviously, but still think I did pretty good for $300. Serial is E65xx

I'm also wondering if it has been refinished or if it is still just in this good of shape. No D&T at least.

What I think is a little fishy: The barrel band goes right through the barrel roll stamp and actually covers the second "30" in .30-30.

Possibly refinished?

·
Registered
671 Posts
Interesting. I'm gonna call a frankenstein but but could very well be wrong. Someone on here can ansawer for sure.

·
Premium Member
2,031 Posts
Very nice rifle...excellent price. Nothing fishy going on there. Sometimes the barrel band did cover the roll stamp on the 1940's guns. Congrats and welcome.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
City Slicker said:
Very nice rifle...excellent price. Nothing fishy going on there. Sometimes the barrel band did cover the roll stamp on the 1940's guns. Congrats and welcome.
Interesting. I am hoping it is all original! I was actually looking for one to modify a little myself, but I will obviously find another for that. I didn't think I got hurt too bad for $300 since I didn't have to pay a transfer fee or shipping, although I better not consider the fuel cost to go pick it up...

thanks for the welcome, been lurking a while and finally had a question.

·
Registered
728 Posts
I think that might have been one I bid on! You beat me out. Congratulations, because it looks just fine!

·
Registered
489 Posts
City Slicker said: