Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I haven't been on here for a few months, but thought I'd drop by. :beerglass: Santa was most generous to me, so I ended up with some new family members: a Marlin 336W and a Marlin 60C.

I've always wanted a lever gun, and the 336 is my very first. After reading some horror stories online about the dreaded Remlin gremlins, I was a bit hesitant to 'pull the trigger' on one...but I figured the 336 has been around for a VERY long time- and for good reason. I must say, I've been VERY pleased with my new 336. Fit and finish are excellent, the wood is just beautiful, and the gun functions great. I've had a few issues with the gun not feeding properly, but I think it's 100% operator error instead of machine malfunction (I've never used a lever action before). It was (and still is) a real bear to load, but that's because the springs are still stiff & new; I bought some snap caps and have been messing with it quite a bit, and things are starting to wear in and smooth out.

The 60C was meant to be a functional replacement for my beloved 50 year old Nylon 66. I love to hunt, but the idea of accidentally scratching up my old girl out in the field scared me. The action on the new 60 is pretty dang rough; I really need to spend some time polishing it up so that the grittiness will ease up. Once it wears in, though, I think it'll really be a joy to shoot. I only wish that it had a couple of sling attachments, because this thing weighs a ton compared to my old 66 LOL.

I added a Centerpoint Scope to the 60c, and now it's an unstoppable demon on the range with dime sized groups. Jury's still out as to whether or not I'll add a low power scope to the 336; I like iron sights, but I'm not 18 anymore and I'm getting old fart eyeballs LOL. (Cheapie scope suggestions are most welcome.)