Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bear with me, I am new to the levergun scene. I bought a 1894 Marlin .44 mag. a few months ago and fell in love, two weeks later I took up casting boolits (for my new levergun) I have almost 3K rounds through that rifle in a few short months, what a blast!

I want to get a new Marlin in .444, do the new production rifles have ballard rifling in them like my 1894. I am going to be shooting mainly cast 300 grain boolits in it. Thats what I cast and shoot in my 1894 with great results and its the only mould I own right now. I have "heard" that I can run into problems with longer bullets in the .444 is this true? Do they have to be seated deeper into the case? Can I use my .44 mag dies for the triple 4 also. I hear from alot of local "experts" around here but don't know anyone who actually owns one.

Thanks DD

·
Premium Member
12,566 Posts
doubledown said:
Bear with me, I am new to the levergun scene. I bought a 1894 Marlin .44 mag. a few months ago and fell in love, two weeks later I took up casting boolits (for my new levergun) I have almost 3K rounds through that rifle in a few short months, what a blast!

I want to get a new Marlin in .444, do the new production rifles have ballard rifling in them like my 1894. I am going to be shooting mainly cast 300 grain boolits in it. Thats what I cast and shoot in my 1894 with great results and its the only mould I own right now. I have "heard" that I can run into problems with longer bullets in the .444 is this true? Do they have to be seated deeper into the case? Can I use my .44 mag dies for the triple 4 also. I hear from alot of local "experts" around here but don't know anyone who actually owns one.

Thanks DD