Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Super Moderator
6,568 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Foreword/Disclaimer: I am not an expert, do not hold an FFL, and am not qualified to dispense legal advice. I am writing this to share some experience and knowledge with fellow members who may be interested in getting into NFA class III firearms and devices. If anything I write is wrong, or unclearly stated, please feel free to correct or question that which is stated here. Those questions and/or corrections will only make for a better thread/forum, and will provide more accurate info to other members.

My interest in suppressors started many years ago when I first discovered that, despite popular belief, they are in fact perfectly legal for civilians to own in most states. It took me over 15 years to actually commit to it because of many of the myths I had heard regarding ownership, what seemed like a 'whole lot' of paperwork, and the dearth of accurate and authoritative information out there (at the time) regarding the subject.

First....the myths, horror stories, and gun shop/show malarkey

"THE ATF CAN COME INTO YOUR HOUSE AT ANY TIME OF DAY OR NIGHT AND DEMAND TO INSPECT YOUR SILENCER"

That's my favorite, and I still overhear people talking about this at gun shows/shops sometimes. This is NOT true. The ATF has no more jurisdiction over suppressor owners than they do gun owners. Once you have the stamp, that's it....unless you get in trouble in some other way. But even so, it is treated the same legally as any other legally owned firearm.