Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9,455 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Slugged my 1952 336 in 32 Special today. It measures .314 (lands) and .318 (grooves). Is this normal for this caliber?
Thinking of loading some cast bullets for target and plinking. Any suggestions on a good bullet or mold? And a good load.
I have these powders on hand but am not limited to them.
IMR 3031
IMR 4350
IMR 4831
WIN 296
WIN 540
Unique
Terry

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
13,303 Posts
It should be .321, but some come at .323.

Slugging the bore works, but you have to make darn sure you have smashed the slug good enough for it to get a tight fit. Making a casting of the first few inches or so of the rifling out of cerrosafe is a much better method. That measurement sounds pretty off. As far as powders, I have no experience with reloading for the 32 special, but do load for the 30-30. Seeing as how they are very similar, IMR4895, and IMR3031 are both great powders for this size case.

·
Premium Member
6,017 Posts
I have never slugged a barrel before but I know how to do just it by understanding the process. I do agree with what Tmanbuckhunter post. it's good sense to realize if you use .321" diameter bullets in you reloads wouldn't a .314 lands and .318" grove measurement ring a bell. You know that .321" bullet go down your bore so that should be your starting point. Now I'm going to cast for my Win.32 spl. soon. Okay I have Ranch Dog W32spl. mold Lee bullet sizing kit .323 ( 8mm) this is my starting point. I will slug the barrel before I start just to be on the safe side. People been using jacket 8 MM bullets in W32spl. for years. Not I. I think the worse that can happen is your bore is worn out and you might need a .324" bullet sizer.

T ;D NY

·
Registered
9,455 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
186 Tmanbuckhunter said:
It should be .321, but some come at .323.