Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Parson, I am relatively new to marlinitis but have my first marlin, a 336 30-30. I do most of my hunting in georgia, (used scoped Tikka 7mm rem mag). I love the old west type of rifle and do not really like the look of a scope on a lever, also screws up the balance of the rifle. In the last five years in georgia my furthest shot has been about 150 yards, although some areas, if a buck presented itself in the open (ya right) you could have a longer shot. I guess my question to you is, lets say your a good shooter, good eyesight, whats about the furthest you could effectivly use a peep sight while hunting deer before it is ineffective. Thanks for your help.

Ozzie
South Florida

·
Premium Member
2,575 Posts
Given good sight with a good peep and being a good shooter with ranges in your neck of the woods, I'd say the caliber was more of the limiting factor. In other words the peep should not limit you at all up to about 150 yards or even a bit more.

·
Premium Member
871 Posts
I agree that the caliber is the biggest limiting factor. You need to know the trajectory of your cartridge and be able to judge the range.

·
Registered
671 Posts
With enough practice, the right size aperture, and the right caliber you can shoot a long ways. In the early 1900's competitions were held shooting out to 800yds using tang mounted peep sights with big bore single shot rifles.
Skinner offers apeertures in different sizes so it is up to you really. I think that with a llot of practice you can shoot that 30/30 out to 300yds if you have good enough vision. As for myself, I'm half blind so it's a little more difficult.

·
Registered
96 Posts