Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,079 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Big Boy Steel in 357 that I will be sending back to Henry for the second time because of accuracy problems. This new barrel shoots worse than the one they replaced (6x4.5 groups at 50yds was the best one). I don't have much experience with .357 rifles but with this one when shooting with medium 158gr hand loads the center of the group was close to point of aim at 25yds, 158 grn Remintons shot 10 inces higher and some hot 125grn hand loads shot a couple inches higher than that. I have a lot of experience with 30-30 loads and I know depending on the load they will shoot to different points but the largest difference I have had is the 160grn gummy tips shot about 3.5 inches higher than most other loads at 50yds.

Ten inches of difference seems extreme to me and I am wondering what other peoples experiences are with rifles like this with different loads.

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
I shot my Henry BBB in 357 mag for PC silhouette for two years. Did not do a group test as such but it always hit the target off the bags.
I shot mild to wild with that rifle and there were drastic poi changes depending on the speed of the bullet.

·
Registered
931 Posts
The.357 that I have is a 1894C. At first, .38s did seem to shoot high at 25 yards. Now (16 months later), the POI seems about the same as .357 at 50 yards. I shot LSWC 158gr .357s last month and FMJ 130gr .38s this month (Remington's and Winchesters respectively). Both are pulling to the right, and the grouping is a few inches (.38s at 7 1/2" × 10: sitting and .357s at 4" × 3: bench). I am thinking that it is due to the heavy trigger pull. That is why I am shooting .38s. I hoping to wear the trigger in. But, I could be a playing a role also.

·
Registered
90 Posts