Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Every time I remove the bolt from my new 1894, the sharp ends of the bolt draw blood. Is there a safe way to take the sharp points off?

Red arrows point to sharp ends.

·
Registered
1,647 Posts
My 1894SS did the same thing, the points were razor sharp. I used my Dremel with an abrasive rubber wheel and rounded them off. Anything will work, file, sandpaper, whetstone. Smooth it however you want, then you may have to touch up the bluing.

·
Registered
409 Posts
A stone followed by some very fine wet/dry emery 600 grit or so and a dab of cold blue to touch up the blueing should do the trick.

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks. I was thinking emery cloth, or sand paper, but wanted to see what others were doing. I’m not good with a Dremel and don’t have anything that resembles an abrasive rubber wheel, so I’ll pass on using the Dremel. Never thought of using a stone. Think I’ll start with a fine file, then some 600 grit paper, then maybe finish it with a stone. Never used any cold blue before, but I think that’s something I can actually get from the LGS. Gives me an excuse to go look at some guns. :biggrin:

·
Registered
9,496 Posts
Yeah they're sharp alright, keep ya hands away from them.

Mark.

Reactions: MidBigWest

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well, I know if the gun failed on me in an SD situation, I could just stab them with the bolt. :biggrin:

·
Registered
99 Posts
A file would be too much of a stretch for me. I would use fine sandpaper as a first step. I had the same problem on mine and it didn't take much to solve the problem.

Reactions: unclesarge58

·
Registered
567 Posts
All the above will work just fine.

Alot of the edges on an 1894 are sharp and can cut ya.