Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello people, New to the forum and new to marlins also .
I was gifted this 1892 from a guy at work and have looked at pictures and have not seem this on any others. By the lever action to the aft of it is this spring looking hook thingy. Could someone enlighten me
to what it is,was or the intent. Its pointed and sharp. Maybe its not a model 1892 I was just looking at auction site with 1892 butt plates and mine is curved nicely here a pic of it also.Thanks you any help , p.s. i can take more pics just let me know.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
Welcome from central Arkansas, there will be some Marlin experts here that will be able to give you the info you need. I am no expert, just a shooter.

·
Registered
856 Posts
Welcome to THE Forum! That is an interesting piece you have there. Would love to see a few more pics, especially the imprinting on the barrel, which would give a better clue as to the ID of your firearm. Have fun with your investigation. We’ll all learn from your question.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hello people, New to the forum and new to marlins also .
I was gifted this 1892 from a guy at work and have looked at pictures and have not seem this on any others. By the lever action to the aft of it is this spring looking hook thingy. Could someone enlighten me
to what it is,was or the intent. Its pointed and sharp. Maybe its not a model 1892 I was just looking at auction site with 1892 butt plates and mine is curved nicely here a pic of it also.Thanks you any help , p.s. i can take more pics just let me know.
Welcome to THE Forum! That is an interesting piece you have there. Would love to see a few more pics, especially the imprinting on the barrel, which would give a better clue as to the ID of your firearm. Have fun with your investigation. We’ll all learn from your question.