Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a new 39A that I've probably put 2,000 rounds through and have never had a problem when working the action and loading a shell into the chamber - until today. The only thing I did different was use a different brand of bulk ammo. After about 30 rounds I was having to double lever to load the shell on most of the rounds. Very annoying.

I'm thinking maybe the new bulk ammo was dirty so when I brought the rifle home I took it apart and gave it a good cleaning. Then I loaded 10 rounds in the tubular magazine the worked though them all with out firing them. No double levering required - good deal.

Do you think the ammo was the problem?

I'm new to lever guns so I appreciate your opinions.

Thanks.

·
Registered
462 Posts
Yes.

I use a good old American Quarter Dollar as an adjustment tool.

It fits the slot perfectly, and is made of copper on the inside so it's not hard enough to allow you to over torque the screw. It will bend before it hurts the rifle.

Also, the soft coin won't bugger the slot in the take down screw or mess up the blue.

So stick a Quarter in that slot and bear down on it until the action begins to bind. If the lever starts feeling tight, back off a little.

If it doesn't make the action bind, you are good to go.

On my rifle, I torque the screw to the point that the quarter JUST begins to bend and it's perfect.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It's good to hear there is consensus about what may have been the problem. The bulk ammo I used, 36 grain Federal HP, was actually quite accurate out of the rifle - at least for the kind of shooting I do. So I'd like to be able to keep it as an option for plinking and practice.

I typically practice by shooting clay pigeons at 50 yards and then shooting the pieces - not too bad for a middle-aged (or better) guy with peep sights. (At least that's what I keep telling myself!) ;D