Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Considering getting a Rossi 92 in 357, would I be better off holding out for a Marlin. I have A 92 in 25-20 and I like the style of the 92. I have no experience with a Rossi, would use it for loafing in the woods and hunting. Thanks Glen

·
Premium Member
222 Posts
If your eyesight is good enough for iron sights, then a Rossi is probably okay. I have a Rossi 92 in 357.

Since my eyesight is gone, I always want to put a scope on my lever guns and Marlins 336s make that real easy when they are already tapped for scope mounts.

And since you're taking suggestions, why not get a Marlin 336 in 30-30 -- ammo is cheap and plentiful and if you ever decide to go after deer -- you'll have the gun that will do the job.

Just my two cents worth.

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have a 30-30 just wanting something in a 357. And I have killed a deer with one before, traded it off. Just a handy sized gun. Don't plan on scoping it, may put a aperture sight on it. My question is one about Rossi quality. Thanks

·
Registered
1,811 Posts
Have one that I bought about 25 yrs ago----shoots very well but my eyesight won't let me shoot any distance with it any more. The action was pretty stiff when I bought it but smoothed out very nicely with a bit of use! It seems to be very well made. The wood to metal fit is way above my Ruger #3 .223.

Hip

Another site has 3 articles on the Rossi. I don't remember which but after I post this I will find the site in my favorites and post it for you.

It's www.castbullets.com------Good Read !

·
Registered
651 Posts
I have a Rossi lever rifle chambered for .44 mag.

I shoot it with BP loads in CAS.

No problems with accuracy. Recently came 2nd in the Lever Action Pistol Caliber side match with it. 9 hits out of 10 on steel plate at 125 meters. Missed the last shot because I became cocky, as soon as I had pulled the trigger I knew I had missed.