Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have no personal experience with it...but the question gets asked often enough, and I have seen lots of people say its good for high velocity with moderate pressure...I am curious, but no factory 40,000 CUP load data is available.

Load data please...powder charge, brass, primer, bullet, OAL, and muzzle velocity if you have a chrono...no estimates please.

Thank You :)

·
El Kabong
8,333 Posts
405 RN cast: 40gr R7, Federal match mag primer, WW or RP cases. 1700-1750fps
400 Speer FN: 45gr R7, Federal match mag primers, WW or RP cases, 1750fps

I increased the cast load to 42.5 and it got brutal on my arm.
Might be on or over the edge for a safe load

·
Premium Member
1,143 Posts
Ridge I've used RL7 in my 45-70's almost exclusively for years, it is a great powder for this cartridge. I use WW cases and the Speer 400 grain soft point. Start at 45 grains as was suggested and let your ability to stand pain be your guide....grin. My load pushes the Speer 400 grain soft point over a chronograph an average of 1967fps for 3 shots. It kills on one end and maims on the other, nothing can stand up to this load, I carry it in griz country. I don't use that load for anything else, it's just too nasty to shoot....smile. I like the 330 grain gould hp for deer over a mild charge of 2400.

MM

·
Registered
194 Posts
I only use RL-7 for the 45-70 loads.

Pile-Driver 525 RL-7 40gr 1615fps Starline cases WLR primers COL 2.557

Hornady 350 FN RL-7 50.5gr 2010fps Starline cases WLR primers COL 2.550

This Velocity is from a 1895GS (18.5 inch barrel) at about 12 feet. Anyone thinking about using this data should start 10% lower and use a crono. The loads are above SAAMI listed for the 45-70 so would be +P.

Anyone listing loads/velocity should also list your barrel length used.

Domenic

·
Premium Member
4,169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Domenic,

Those are moving right along :)