Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to reloading and I am going to set up a room to do it in my basement. I have 2 possible options. 1 is in the utility room where my furnace is which isn't ideal but it would work and the other is in a small room that would be perfect for it cause it has a door that can lock and it just looks like it wants to be in there. Here's the problem, the small room is right under my kids bedroom. Is there any possibility that a round could go off during a reloading session or are they designed so this cant happen. I suppose if I did not put the case in right something could go wrong but has anyone heard of this happening? I don't want to be that freak story you see on the news and say what was he thinking.

·
Registered
990 Posts
If you were to have a round go off, the kids would be safe, but you may need medical attention. Without the chamber to hold the case together, the casing becomes a mini hand grenade.

Now saying that, I doubt you could ever have a loaded round go off during the loading process. I'd be more worried about the environmental conditions of the room you plan on using. Powder and primers HATE damp climates. Unless you plan on running a dehumidifier, or live in a dry climate, the basement may not be the best place to set up a reloading room. An unused bedroom, storage room [out of the basement], or corner of the garage would be a better place to set-up your bench. All you need is about 4' of bench, and a cabinat that can be locked.

·
Premium Member
3,477 Posts
I don't think you have anything to worry about as far as an unchambered cartridge. Unconfined powder just burns, it doesn't explode (like you see on TV!) and there is nothing to guide the bullet and give it velocity. That is not to say there won't be some fire... :eek:

As dmsbandit mentioned, if you don't like rusty tools, make sure the humidity is controlled.