Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all,
I am new to reloading, and trying to do some research. I currently own an 1895SBL, 18.5 barrel. I use the gun primarily for bear defense. Both Grizz's and black. I am curious what grain bullet you guys recommend for this purpose, as well as the powder. I likely wont be shooting if the creature is more than 100 yds away.

The secondary use of this amazing gun will be for hunting feral pig. Do you suggest a different grain and powder?

Thanks for your patience as I am new to this, but your feedback would be great!

·
Registered
2,356 Posts
Best thing you can do is go spend $25 on a copy of the Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook and read from cover to cover.

Bears generally mean a bullet of at least 430 grains, pigs and deer can be had plenty with a 350 grainer....go with the WNFP (wide nose flat point) profile.

Lots of good reading on here covering this subject. Look up HSM Bear Loads and buy a few boxes, best possible starting point for bear loads...

·
Registered
1,629 Posts
Hey groomez,
Good, accurate, heavy load without heavy recoil... WW cases, 42 grains RL-7, CCI200 primers, Beartooth 525 Pile Driver bullets. They chrono at 1600 fps MV from my guide gun. Heavy medicine for anything on the planet. :biggrin:

525gr Pile-Driver (Large).JPG

BT 525 50yds (Large) (2).JPG

Reactions: Krusty and groomez

·
Registered
4,559 Posts
Some good info above!

The boolit Bugsmasher shows is the design and profile your looking for!!!!!!!!!!!

As was said, make sure it cycles in your action.

I use a WFN which looks a great lot like the one Bugsmasher shows, except it is 465gr. Velocity from my 22" barrel is right at 1650fps.

I use H335 behind the 465gr WFN, and it will simply take anything alive in North American and in most cases give through and through penertration.