Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today my new 45-70 Cowboy gets out of FFL jail. I have a very good relationship with my LGS, and they have agreed to let me shoot my 45-70 in their indoor range, as long as the loads do not exceed 44 mag levels (they allow other rifles such as 44 mag, 45 Colt +p and M1 Carbine, but they hold the line at 454 Casull revolver or rifle. I current have 458 cast bullets 300g, 350g and 405gr. Right now I have reloaded some of the cast 350g at both 15g 2400 and 18g 2400, but I would like some advice as, while reloading for decades, I'm new to 45-70. I'm guessing reloading the 300gr bullets would be closer to 44 mg loadings, but the darn the things are coated red (my other bullets are bare cast), and the loaded rounds look like a lipstick tube with a red tip. Saying this I will probably go with the 300g next time and save the larger bullets for higher velocity loads. Again the point is not to duplicate a 44mag loading, but creating a reduced load similar to 44 mag loading. Any advice would be welcome.

·
Registered
985 Posts
How will your LGS know what level your home-rolled loads are? You may need to find some .45-70 Cowboy Action loads such as Ultramax Cowboy Action or the like.

Tim

Reactions: rob42049

·
Registered
19,715 Posts
We've been shooting 350 grain LaserCast bullets and 14.7 grains of Unique,standard(non-magnum) primer. Very mild with excellent accuracy. Never chrono'd this load,but it's milder than my .44 Mag rifle loads.

·
Registered
872 Posts
agreed to let me shoot my 45-70 in their indoor range,
as long as the loads do not exceed 44 mag levels ....
Uuuuuuhh.... I can't figure out what they're talking about, and I have a feeling they don't know either.

That said, look at Kingstrider's data, and this limit:

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)