Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,629 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Finally got all my stuff together and ready to load 45/70. Although I have been reloading pistol since the 1980s (almost all pistol) I have never loaded 45/70.

I have new Starline Brass that I have sized and chamfered the case mouth. Length is quite consistent running about 2.010 in. Bullets are Hornady 300 grain hp and IMR 4198. I am loading on a Dillon 650 and not using the casefeeder. Dies are mixed but I think a good combo. Lyman sizeing die, Lee powder through with a Lee Auto Drum measure, Lyman 2 step expanding die M, Lyman seating die and a Lee factory crimp die.

As I said, I am not new too reloading but also not too proud to take advise from Marlin people so feel free to share your knowledge with me and everyone else.

Padraig

·
Registered
218 Posts
I also use the Lee collet factory crimp rifle die. I have found it to be easier on the brass than roll crimp dies, and more consistent if the brass is not exactly the same length. Having said that, people have been using the roll crimp in the seating die for decades with no problems. Try both and decide if the LFC die is worth the extra step to you.

·
Registered
6,892 Posts
The Lee FCD will crimp consistently at a fixed distance above the base of the cartridge case. It produces this crimp regardless of the length of the case provided it is longer than an certain minimum. This is very unlikely unless you are using Hornady Leverevolution cases.

A consistent roll crimp is dependent upon the length of the case. Slightly longer cases will receive a tighter crimp, shorter cases will get a lighter crimp, depending upon how much case mouth goes into the shelf that makes the crimp. If a case is too long, a roll crimp will buckle the case. The FCD would still have made a perfect crimp on that same round and would not buckle the case.

Of course if the cases are way short, neither die will produce a crimp.