• I Don't Reload

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Premium Member
13,741 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Curious.

I have just gotten back into reloading in May last year and have primarily been loading jacketed. I wanted to get a better feel for what the rest of you prefer.

Thanks and please add comments if you’d like in your post as to favorite load!

·
Premium Member
1,547 Posts
Back into reloading after about a 16 year hiatus - and jumping headfirst into the cast bullet ocean - including casting my own. Will shoot virtually all 44/45 as cast, and nearly all my milsurps eventually. Will retain a couple jacket loads for deer rifles, but that is about it.

·
El Kabong
8,333 Posts
You need a both button.
Ive been loading jacketed for over 4 decades.
Cast only the last year.
Now its about 50/50
Now that I roll my own boolits
I dont plan on buying any more jacketed

·
Premium Member
3,477 Posts
Primarily jacketed in auto pistol loads (.380, .45ACP) and cast in the majority of my revolver loads (.38/.357, .41, .45Colt.) The high velocity stuff gets jacketed.

I don't load any cast in my rifles (.30-30, .348WCF, 7.62mm, 5.56mm, 30-06)

I only load lead in my shotgun... ;D

·
Premium Member
8,169 Posts
Cast in light/moderate loads for pistols, cast (with gas-checks) and jacketed for heavy pistol loads.

Cast (with gas-checks) and jacketed in rifles (particularly the levers), but just jacketed in the bolt guns.

Overall, about 65%/35% cast vs. jacketed.

·
Registered
476 Posts