Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4,026 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I'm pretty new to the Marlin rifle thing and I've been doing a lot of reading on here and elsewhere. I've looked at quite a few in the pawn shops and bought a couple. I haven't as of yet seen a Marlin anything that didn't have the JM stamp on it but every referral to a Marlin rifle or ad for sale of one states it has the JM stamp. My question is does any of them not have the JMstamp and if so what gun.

·
Registered
20,660 Posts
Remlins

·
Super Moderator
26,091 Posts
Any Marlin rifle with the REP stamp on the barrel is a Remlin made after the takeover. These REP stamps date back to 2010--after the manufacturing moved to NY from CT.

·
Registered
447 Posts
Remlin = Remington-Marlin. It's a bit of a pet name, though not one associated with any positive implications. Not a true Marlin; a loose impression. Whether it's better than nothing, is a matter of opinion, and much debate.

JM = John Marlin. The true Marlin by most standards.

Apparently the move incorporated the conversion to computer aided machinery. It's a sensible manufacturing decision, though the conversion of old vs. new has not been as smooth as we all hoped. I do think they are getting better, but it's just not what we are used to.

It's a bit like comparing the old hand drawn cartoons to the new CGI ones. They are getting better, but it's just not the same...

Or maybe invasion of the body snatchers is a better example...

Reactions: graymustang

·
Registered
1,139 Posts
JM generally found on left side of barrel just past receiver. (Except on right on some older ones). REP is on right side just forward of receiver. They're not always struck perfectly so they don't all look just like a JM.

·
Registered
7,734 Posts