Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
415 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can anyone give me facts on how much different primers actually change things or do they really matter that much ? I have been reloading for 30 years and have always stuck with what ever primer I was using during my load work ups and never bothered to try anything else, even if I had to wait or shop for that brand to come in. I use winchester large rifle/mag, Federal 215 mag rifle and CCI 200 and CCI 250 large rifle.

How critical is the brand and # of the primer. It is all about igniting the powder and that charge means all the world, but setting it off, once it is ignited the primer is done. I am asking this cause sometimes I get into a reloading mood and get everything ready and sometimes run out of the primer I had been using for that gun and I am stopped dead in my tracks.

It's not like a blasting caps setting off an entire bank of loaded holes that need timing, that is timed the ignition is when it is set off.

So any experience in swapping back and forth between them as long as they set off the powder what is the difference ?

THanks

·
El Kabong
8,333 Posts
All preform within SAAMI specs.
Some are hotter than others, some have a closer variation, some have a longer flame.

I think its all anal to worry about. Use what you like.

I use CCI #34 because they are the hardess primer made for gas op firearms.
I use Winchester Magnums because they have the most uniform burn.
Tho the Federal GMmatchM primers are a tad hotter. Which is what I used to use

·
Registered
415 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I guess what I wanted to know is will it really make any difference if I use what ever primers I have on hand for loads, could it be possible to screw up the loads I have worked up over the years by simply changing them all to the same primers ?

·
Registered
9,665 Posts