Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys, as the title suggests, this may be an all timer. I just got my first Marlin, my first lever action, actually, and I was wondering in what position to store it. Should the hammer be resting on the safety or in the half cock position? Thanks for helping a new owner!

·
Registered
41 Posts
I'm not an expert but I always store my guns in the "fired" position, that is the hammer is against the pin. My logic goes like this: I might not use a gun a for a while so it is best to leave everything in an uncompressed state.

PS: Just re-read that, do you mean you have it stored by the back door ready for use?

·
Registered
4,368 Posts
If you put a lot of oil in it then you should store it horizontally.
If you have a safe then you don't have much choice except to store
it vertically.
Mine are in a safe but keep in mind that dust can get into the barrel
if it's standing up in the corner of the room so I'd cover the end of
the barrel.
I store mine on half cock and unloaded.
Enjoy your new Marlin! :biggrin:

·
Premium Member
8,169 Posts
Here's what I do with mine... Due to space limitations mine are stored vertically (in the locker), muzzle preferably down, hammer on the half-cock. I reckon there are million ways to skin this cat. So long as they aren't stored in an enclosed case, I'm happy. I would rather have the firearm "out" so air can circulate somewhat, as opposed to being trapped in a case that not only prevents air flow, but also traps and holds moisture/humidity pretty well.

·
Registered
3,877 Posts
First thing first............

Empty chamber.............

Hammer down!

Lots of information available . The more you read, the more you learn.

I must say, I`m some what surprised at your question though. looks like you have the cart (weapon) in front of the horse(learning.)

You`ll like your new Marlin. After you figure out how it works..................:)

·
Banned