Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,591 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Another forum member & I were just discussing this. You pay WAY too much for a rifle that was not misrepresented... at least in a criminal way that you can take to court. And you learn that it ain't the way it left the factory, what next?

The gun we discussed had coarse checkering and a possible propane torch color case hardening job, but any other altered gun would do for this hypothetical situation. The one in question was priced around 10 grand and was worth maybe 400 tops.

Any remedy? Bite the bullet? SW

·
Registered
1,586 Posts
For that amount of money, I'd probably seek legal advice from a professional.... regardless of what I thought of my chances-I'm no expert, that's for sure. I'd first try to gain redress from the seller though, and take it from there. I'd be interested in seeing a description that isn't criminal mis-representation for an altered gun.

Put another way, I wouldn't take a beating on something like this without making a great deal of noise- of the kicking and screaming variety...

Regards,

Doc Sharptail

·
Premium Member
7,244 Posts
Well I guess it depends on what the description said. If a seller says it's all original, then I'd go with Doc's advice, and seek my money back, or legal advice. If the seller eludes to a possibility that it's not original, then you' just stepped into deep doo doo!
Only recourse is to hope you've got deep pockets, and thick skin! And maybe you're young enough to live long, and find another buyer 50 years later!

·
Registered
719 Posts
or.........

or sell it to a guy from kentucky....he'll buy anything that goes bang!
:shock: :D

·
Registered
1,591 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·