Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
All kinds. Enamored of their mechanisms! Worked as an engineering
12,719 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was a 20 year old rookie. Youngest patrolman ever hired by the department. Got to taking apart my Model 10 pencil barreled S&W to see how it worked and give it a thorough cleaning. As my afternoon shift grew closer, and me getting more frustrated in its reassembly I started to sweat. I was 25 minutes drive time to work and the pressure mounted. My bride wasn't helping with her comments that I'd have to show up on shift with a sack of parts!

My pride and determination grabbed hold and I was able to put 'er back together and made roll call by the skin of my teeth.

Tuition spent in the School of Life.

AC

·
Registered
21,234 Posts
Nothin' like the college of hard knocks! You learn REEEAALLL quick when you screw up, NOT to do THAT again! Beats any liberal university edumacation...hands down!

·
Registered
2,181 Posts
I was a sheriff deputy I was cleaning my revolver before leaving for work. It was time to leave when I finished, I wiped the gun down and dry fired it once. I saw something fly out the barrel. It was half the firing pin. I had to go in with a non working gun, Lucky I stopped at a gun shop and they gave me a loaner while they fixed mine.

·
Banned
8,174 Posts
In 1975 being a policeman was a hassle free job compared to what it is today.I am surprised anyone would want to be a police officer today.You can make a whole lot more money doing many other things that are stress and risk free.

·
Registered
9,653 Posts