Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What do you guys think? Just asking about your experiences with both.. Thanks in advance:hmmmm:

·
Registered
2,700 Posts
For me it's brass.

Nickel is too brittle for long life, hard to anneal if necessary, too expensive just for looks. Don't mind if there is a few pieces in a bucket of mixed head stamps, but I don't go looking for them.

Your mileage may vary, of course.

·
Registered
7,731 Posts
Experience might vary according to the caliber. I've no experience with nickel bottle neck cases.

I've not noticed much of a difference. It seems to me that perhaps the nickel cases work harden and split a few reloads earlier than the brass, but I haven't kept track of the total number of reloads, so then again, maybe not. This with 38 special.

Some claim tha the nickel plate flakes off. Again, I've not seen this as a problem. I've reloaded 38 spec nickel cases where the nickel was nearly gone through wear, but it didn't flake off.

I've got some 45 70 nickel cases that are on their 5th reload. No wear or flaking yet.

·
Registered
1,269 Posts
Plus 2 with DrMike.

·
Administrator
23,826 Posts
I've shot both. Plated splits much sooner.

Every so often when it splits you won't notice it. If you load it again it is possible to embed a piece of that plating in your chamber. When they split they can scar the chamber very easy on extraction.

Plating is harder than the chamber they go into.

I've shot a lot of them. When given to me or pick up at the range I used to load it once and pitch it. I no longer use any at all. I'm happy that way.

If I was into it, I would load some dummy rounds to show off in a belt loop with a fancy setup. The plated ones won't rot in leather like brass does. Caveat the copper jacketed bullets and unplated primers will.

·
Premium Member
565 Posts