Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I recently purchased a Marlin 1894s in .44 Mag. It is a used gun, made @ 1970 (date based upon a coin inserted into buttstock that says "Marlin 1870-1970"). I am no novice when it comes to guns in general or lever guns either. I tried to chamber .44 Specials from the mag tube, but they jammed the action. Am I right in quessing that vintage Marlins cannot interchange .44 Spec/.44 Mag ammo? This is my first Marlin. What opinions do any of you have on the Microgroove rifling? A gentleman I was talking to in the gun shop told me he like the microgroove Bbls vs. the old Ballard rifling of older Marlins. He felt that they were more accurate. The rifle I bought is in like new condition with a pristine bore. Using quality ammo, what kind of groups are the average for this rifle? Any opinions would be helpful. TIA.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
To my way of thinking they should work :? Have you tried 44 mags to see if they cycle alright. Seems to me the speciel stuff should go thru as easy if not easier :!:

·
Registered
25 Posts
If you want to check the date of manufacture, have a look in the Reference Material section of this forum. There are two posts there which explain how to get the year from the serial number.

Have you checked the overall length of the 44 specials? If they are too short then they will not feed correctly.

·
Registered
62 Posts