Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i just purchased a new 1895g 45-70 for deer hunting in ohio. i'm new to this gun as i always used slug guns. i bought hornady leverevolution ammo for it. 325gr. i would like some advice on a scope for it. i have about a 300 budget for a scope and mounts. i have a bushnell 1.75-4 on one of my slug guns with the circle ret that i really like. i also had a leupold 2-7x33 on my other slug gun(that i sold) that i liked also, but i never seemed to take the scope over 4 power. majority of my shots will be under a 100, with the occasional long shot if everthing is right. so any tips for a scope, mounts, and ring heights would be greatly appreciated.
thanks, brian

·
Registered
7,293 Posts
Consider the Vortex Diamondback V 1.75-5x 32. Optics are outstanding for this price range. There is an available dead hold BDC reticle for an extra $10. Use low rings. I love mine. Optics equal or better than Leupold VXII.

·
Premium Member
15,449 Posts
I am partial to the Leupold or Burris steel mounts and rings but the WEAVERS have also served ne well over the years.
Leupold, Weaver, Burris< Bushnell, redfield all have suitable scopes, based on your preference.
don't rule out the scopes over 4 power just yet, as you get older you will need them and then have to replace them with higher magnification (been thru that drill, because when I weas in my 20's and 30's, I did not need anything above 4x, now in my 50's, that 7 and 9 power comes in handy

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
don't rule out the scopes over 4 power just yet, as you get older you will need them and then have to replace them with higher magnification (been thru that drill, because when I weas in my 20's and 30's, I did not need anything above 4x, now in my 50's, that 7 and 9 power comes in handy