Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
322 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello, i'm new to the world of reloading and have found the entire MO sight extreemly helpful... not only in reloading info but general info as well. that being said, i don't want to clog up the other forums with "remedial" questions.

i found a post talking about case capicity.

http://www.marlinowners.com/forums/index.php/topic,28447.0.html

i don't understand what the case capacity has to do with the loading under the loading guidelines??

for example i'm reloading 2 identical rounds using:

49 grains of imr 4198 (50 grains is the max load listed from the IMR website)
hornady 350 grain bullets
cci 200 large rifle primers

everything for loading 2 rounds is equal except for different cases being used. say one winchester and one remington. according to the above post/link, the win brass has 4.1 grains more capacity than rem brass. won't these load up exactly the same? won't there just be more empty space in the case for the brass with more capacity?

granted the load data i'm using specifies win brass. does the load data change if i'm using different brass? is this only relevant if when i get close to case capacity... ie. different bullet, or powder?

please help, because some of the warnings will scare the snot out of you. i don't want to go to the range with unanswered questions... second guessing all of my work/research/studying/question asking.

thanks in advance -wayne ???

·
Administrator
23,800 Posts
Say your using the Rem that has 4.1 gns less than the Winchester case, but your loading data is for the Win case and you are nearing maximum.