Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to this thread thing. I recently purchased a 1895GBL, and I am having a rough time getting it to sight in at 100yrds. Took it to an outdoor range (which I don't do to often since its a little far away) to sight it in. Using the standard iron sights with the dove tail rear sight. Had a target out at the 100yd mark. The 1st shot was about a foot low, center of target. Readjusted, got it on paper. Kept shooting/readjusting till the dove tail was maxed out, and at that point I was shooting about 6" below the bulls-eye. I was using HSM 405 grain, 1300fps factory load. I will probably continue to use this type of ammo till I get it sighted in, and have some fun with it before moving into more expensive ammo/hand-loads for hunting. My question is, there is an indoor range that allows 45-70. It has 75ft/25yd lanes. I know the bullet shoots like a rainbow. What would I be looking at if I wanted to sight it in at 25yds for it to "zero" at 100yds? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

·
Registered
509 Posts
Welcome Sachmo,

Your probably going to need a shorter front sight. The options are:

1) Call marlin customer service and tell them your problem. They will send you a shorter front sight.

2) Adjust your rear sight to the mid point position and determine how low it shoots at that point. Then go to Skinner sights web page, they have a formula to determine what the front sight height should be, and order that sight.

3) file your front sight down until it shoots to point of aim.

Reactions: bkg1956

·
Registered
5,706 Posts
Welcome and good luck with your rifle. Just a suggestion, you might try another ammo and see how it shoots.

·
Registered
4,121 Posts