Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. New here. I'm really excited to have a Marlin 336C but since it's the first gun i've owned, and I'm completely new to Marlin, I was hoping I could get some help.

I did use the search tool and because of the wealth of information you guys have here, I did find lots of relevant content (Thank you! I read it all!) However, i'm having trouble welding the various pieces of information together to form a cohesive understanding. Please excuse my ignorance - I guess we all start out the same way, not knowing anything.

Serial Numbers: From what I gather "MR" in front of the serial number denotes a Remington made Marlin 336. Since mine is brand new as of I assume it is a Remington Made gun (It has an "MR" and ends in an "A". ).

Question: Can anyone tell me a little more about the origins of my rifle (S/N MR124xxA)? Are there common defects or areas of shoty workmanship I should look out for since I have a "Marlington"? Also my serial number is on the side of the receiver - does this mean anything?

Sights/Rails/Scope: The top of my receiver has screws in which to mount a scope/rail. On the barrel itself is the rear iron sight. I've seen pictures of Marlins on this forum that show a scope mounted, what looks like to be on the barrel and not as far back as being mounted on the top of the receiver.

QuestionDoes removing the stock rear sight require the gun to go to a gunsmith? I don't see any screws but I really like the idea of doing a scout set-up and having the scope more forward on the gun then ontop of the receiver. Also,The current iron sights are a very very stiff and almost impossible to adjust by hand. Any tips on the stock irons that I might be missing? I'm really struggling with it.