Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,853 Posts
I have worked on many wood lathes not metal. But I assume the functions and skills are very similar. slow and steady and yes a mentor if you can. looks like fun can't wait to see what you make

·
Registered
31,289 Posts
Wow! I would have snatched that up in a heartbeat myself! I learned the basics at CCI! We had a big lathe! Self taught machinist! Send it to me!

ca'jun56

·
Registered
31,289 Posts
Did you find the rest of table that goes with it? If not you can mount it on a table for sure! Metal lathe always come in handi!
It's the tools that's expensive!

ca'jun56

·
Premium Member
16,511 Posts
Great score!

Get some scrap materiel. Pipe. Cold Roll, such like. (practice cutting threads?)

Chuck something up. Hit the switch. Stand back!

You'll be a runnin' that thang in a couple months!

All a wonderin'....how it is ya got this far without it! :LOL:

·
Registered
789 Posts
... yes, but if among your acquaintances there is a lathe-worker by trade, it will be precious to you, even just to watch him work _ can you post a photo of the tools that eventually come with your lathe?
(first: keep an eye on the spindle tightening wrench, the square section one, remembering to remove it from the spindle before startin' the lathe, because I got it on the nose sometimes :) )

·
Banned
203 Posts
NICE. No help here I’m afraid, I’m still learning how to operate my HF mini mill. I did take some machining classes at a local community college when I was 25 but a wife, son and a full time job ended that, I’m 70 now and learning about my mill. Just installed a belt drive on it. Life’s a circle. Good luck

·
Registered
4,161 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Did you find the rest of table that goes with it? If not you can mount it on a table for sure! Metal lathe always come in handi!
It's the tools that's expensive!

ca'jun56